Let There Be Light

To experiment further with the lino prints i did previously i have decided to experiment with light and how this affects the overall artwork. I was thinking of ways to experiment with my printed lino images and while browsing the web found this image below

visualpilots_Shadowlounge_Cornerlamp_700

PROJECTS

This is of card cut images, that i think are most likely to be laser cut and not by hand. The images are projected onto plain walls to create shadows and light. This inspired me to experiment with light with the lino cuts. I think within the final major project there is still room to experiment with new techniques and ideas and so this is what i have decided to do.

Below are images i have taken of the Moon Goddess lino print with a spotlight shining behind it to give it real moon shine upon it.

Image

 IMG_0173

 IMG_0176

IMG_0177

IMG_0179

IMG_0180

I think these worked really well as it makes the image look like the moon is actually shining. The paper the print is already on is quite thick and is a naturally made part with small paper chippings in it which gives it a lovely hand made look.

This process of taking a plain lino print and using it in a different way has inspired me to think about how i will present my Laser Cut Prints. I have the idea of hanging up my A2 prints from the ceiling using wire and shining lights behind them a bit like stained glass windows. Goddess’s are deities and are worshipped just as Jesus is in a church so to play on this idea would be quite interesting.

In my next blog post i will explore this idea further with images and research.

Leave a comment